Steve W. Chaddick School Chair, College of Engineering

From 1992-1996 Steven W. McLaughlin was on the Electrical Engineering faculty at the Rochester Institute of Technology. He joined the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Georgia Tech in September 1996, where he is now the Steve W. Chaddick School Chair. From 2007-2012 he was Vice Provost for International Initiatives, where he was responsible for Georgia Tech's global engagement in research, education, and economic development. He is a co-founder of Whisper Communications , a physical-layer security company established in 2009 to commercialize technologies developed in his research group. He was previously Deputy Director of Georgia Tech - Lorraine - the European Campus of the Georgia Institute of Technology - in Metz, France, from 2006-2007. In 2011, he was awarded the honor Chevalier dans l`Ordre Nationale de Merite, (Knight of the French National Order of Merit), the second highest civilian award given by Republic of France. McLaughlin was the first Georgia Tech recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), for which he was cited by President Bill Clinton "for leadership in the development of high-capacity, nonbinary optical recording formats." He also received the National Science Foundation CAREER and the Information Storage Industries Consortium Technical Achievement Award (with Dr. David Warland at UC-Davis) for this work. From 1999-2003, he was the Principal Scientist for Calimetrics, which resulted in commercialization of this work, and Calimetrics was acquired by LSI Logic in 2005. McLaughlin received the Friend of the Graduate Student Award in 2002 from the GT Graduate Student Association and the 2009 Faculty Achievement Award from the School of ECE. He has published more than 240 papers in journals and conferences and holds 30 US patents. McLaughlin has served as research and thesis advisor to more than 50 students at the bachelors, masters, doctoral, and post-doctoral levels. 

PhD 1992, University of Michigan MSE 1986, Princeton University BS 1985, Northwestern University